The Pretenders announce new album “Hate For Sale”


The Pretenders are delighted to announce their brand-new album ‘Hate For Sale”, set for release on 1st May via BMG. The album is the first to be recorded with the now long-standing touring line-up of the group. The band have also shared the first new music from the album “The Buzz”.

Speaking about The Buzz, Chrissie Hynde said:
“I think we all know that love affairs can take on the characteristics of drug addiction. It’s about that. Not mine of course – I’m never obsessive never obsessive never obsessive”

Produced by the revered Stephen Street (The Smiths, Blur) “Hate For Sale” is The Pretenders’ eleventh studio album and the first to be written collaboratively by Chrissie Hynde and electrifyingly dynamic guitarist James Walbourne. Speaking about writing with James for the first time,

Chrissie added: “I wanted to write with him since day one. James is especially sought after and has recorded with Jerry Lee Lewis, Dave Gahan, and The Rails, to name but a few. We always planned on writing while on the road, but as anyone in a band will tell you, being on tour is a procrastinator’s dream come true”.

The Pretenders most recent album, 2016’s Alone was a critical success and a welcome return for the line-up, coming eight years after 2008’s “Break Up The Concrete”. The band supported Fleetwood Mac on their UK stadium tour in June 2019, which included two shows at Wembley Stadium. 

The Pretenders new album “Hate For Sale” is released on 1st May via BMG and is available on CD and heavyweight 12 inch vinyl formats.

Album tracklist:

Hate For Sale
The Buzz
Lightning Man
Turf Accountant Daddy
You Can’t Hurt a Fool 
I Didn’t Know When To Stop
Maybe Love Is In NYC
Junkie Walk
Didn’t Want To Be This Lonely 
Crying in Public

To share this article:

Don't forget to follow our Spotify Playlist: