Cowboy Junkies will release “Songs of the Recollection”

Long admired for the carefully chosen cover versions of songs that have been part of their repertoire from the very beginning, Cowboy Junkies will release “Songs of the Recollection” on March 25 on Proper Records, consisting of nine covers both newly recorded and curated from previous album projects.

This inspired, and inspiring, collection features tracks from David Bowie, Neil Young, Gram Parsons, The Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, Gordon Lightfoot, Vic Chesnutt and The Cure.

Michael Timmins recalls, ‘Long before we were musicians, we were music fans. We didn’t grow up sitting around the kitchen table playing instruments and harmonizing. We grew up sitting around the record player listening to each other’s record collections and having our minds blown. This was the passion that we shared. Our goal has always been to create music that took hold of the listener the way that this music took hold of us. These are some of the songs and some of the artists that found their way into our lives and eventually into our repertoire over the past fifty years.’

“Songs of the Recollection” follows 2018’s acclaimed studio album “All That Reckoning”, and joins stand-out releases like “The Trinity Sessions” (1988), “Pale Sun”, “Crescent Moon” (1993), “Lay It Down” (1996), “Open” (2001), and “At the End of Paths Taken” (2007) in reflecting the band’s unique and independent creative journey.

Songs of the Recollection track-listing:

Five Years – David Bowie
Ooh Las Vegas * – Gram Parsons
No Expectations – Mick Jagger and Keith Richards
Don’t Let It Bring You Down – Neil Young
Love In Mind – Neil Young
The Way I Feel * – Gordon Lightfoot
I’ve Made Up My Mind To Give Myself To You – Bob Dylan
Marathon * – Vic Chesnutt
Seventeen Seconds * – Laurence Andrew Tolhurst (The Cure)

*previously commercially released

To share this article:

Don't forget to follow our Spotify Playlist: