Burt Bacharach And Daniel Tashian Share ‘Blue Umbrella (The Complete Recordings)’ Featuring Two New Songs

Burt Bacharach and Daniel Tashian, whose cross-generational collaborative ‘Blue Umbrella’ EP earned a 2021 GRAMMY nomination for Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album, can’t stop writing songs together. Now, they’re sharing two new songs with ‘Blue Umbrella (The Complete Recordings)’ via Big Yellow Dog Music.

The new collection has four additional songs written in the last year, two that are brand new and two released last December. The new songs “Traveling Light” and “Can’t Go Wrong” feature the same vintage-tinged elegance found on the original EP accompanied by local musicians including The Time Jumpers’ Dennis Crouch, ACM Drummer of the Year Fred Eltringham, ACM Guitar Player of the Year nominee Tom Bukovac and Jim Hoke (Dolly Parton, Paul McCartney).

‘Blue Umbrella (The Complete Recordings)’ tracklist:

  1. Traveling Light
  2. Can’t Go Wrong
  3. Bells of St. Augustine
  4. Whistling in the Dark
  5. Blue Umbrella
  6. Midnight Watch
  7. We Go Way Back
  8. 21st Century Man (feat. Jessie Baylin)
  9. Quiet Place

Blue Umbrella, released July 31, 2020, was praised as “a match made in pure pop heaven” by Entertainment Weekly and “a set of graceful, soulful ballads” by the Associated Press. The duo performed selections from Blue Umbrella for NPR Music’s Tiny Desk (Home) Concert series, who deemed the performance “tremendous,” and were featured on music podcasts Broken Record and Sodajerker.

To share this article:

Don't forget to follow our Spotify Playlist: