Deep Purple announces a new studio album

Does Deep Purple really need an introduction? The band is one of the most important pioneers of rock music and has continuously pushed its musical boundaries over the past decades. The band is led by the legendary Ian Gillan, whose vocals have been incredibly influential for generations. Gillan is accompanied by the masterful bassist Roger Glover, the powerful drums of Ian Paice, and maestro on keyboards Don Airey. This is the band’s first album with guitarist Simon McBride, who stepped in when long-time member Steve Morse had to leave Deep Purple due to personal reasons.

But Deep Purple is more than just its renowned members. With old friend Bob Ezrin (among others, Kiss, Lou Reed & Alice Cooper) as producer, the album evokes the classic 70s sound of the band without succumbing to nostalgia. The enigmatic title of the new album ‘=1’ symbolizes the idea that in an increasingly complex world, everything ultimately simplifies to a single, unified essence. “Everything equals one.”

Of the band’s previous albums, ‘Now WHAT?!’ (2013), ‘inFinite’ (2017), and ‘Whoosh!’ (2020), more than a million copies have been sold worldwide, making Deep Purple one of the most successful active rock bands of all time. It’s no wonder that ‘Child In Time’ dominates the all-time top lists.

The first single will be released on April 30th, giving a taste of the 13-track studio album titled ‘=1’. Deep Purple continues their success of recent years and celebrates it with a worldwide album tour. The new album will be released on July 19th through earMUSIC.

To share this article:

Don't forget to follow our Spotify Playlist: