The Magpie Salute Announce New Album ‘High Water II’

The Magpie Salute return with their new album, ‘High Water II’, which will be released on 18th October via Provogue (Europe, Australia, New Zealand) / Eagle Rock (North America). The album will be released on Limited edition 180g 2LP Brown vinyl, 2LP 180g Black vinyl, CD and digitally

When ‘High Water I’ was released in August 2018 it was the sound of old friends coming together in a union of rock ‘n’ roll, psychedelic blues, rasping Americana and late-night storytelling. The band was pulled together by guitarist Rich Robinson, it continued a story line he began in The Black Crowes with guitarist Marc Ford and bassist Sven Pipien. Meanwhile, vocalist John Hogg shared Hookah Brown with Robinson as keyboardist Matt Slocum and drummer Joe Magistro both joined him for solo records and tours over the years. Their first official live outing was in January 2017 at the Gramercy Theatre, New York City.

The album reached the Top 40 Billboard Charts and was met with widespread acclaim from Rolling Stone, Relix, Guitar World, Planet Rock, MOJO Magaine, The Independent, The Daily Express and Classic Rock Magazine named it #7 in their albums of the year. Tours across the US and Europe followed including shows with Gov’t Mule, The Avett Brothers and Blackberry Smoke with the band also taking their first trip to Japan in January this year.

‘High Water II’ picks up where the band’s studio debut left off, much of the album was written during those early recordings at Dark Horse Studios in Nashville which is why the album feels like a perfect continuation of its predecessor. Talking about the flow between the two albums Robinson explains; “Both records are part of a collective journey. I chose the sequence specifically for each record. I wanted ‘High Water l’ to introduce us to the world and the world to us. With ‘High Water ll,’ I wanted to get a little deeper. To take people places they may not have expected to go.”

The Magpie Salute is a landscape with limitless possibilities and they have the ability to swoop and delve into a myriad of textures and emotions. Their live repertoire alone highlights this as an impressive cannon which means they can perform as a 10 piece, 6 piece or a trio. The collections of songs spans The Magpie Salute, The Black Crowes, Rich Robinson solo material and cover versions meaning that no two shows are the same. Something that will keep fans wanting to come back time after time. “I think it definitely keeps it moving and fresh for us as a band. I think the fans that come to the show expect that they will be at a different show hearing different songs every night,” says Robinson.

Prior to the announcement of ‘High Water II,’ Robinson revealed, he has also teamed up with Gretsch to create a new G6136T-CSTRR Rich Robinson “Magpie” Signature guitar. “Ever since I was a kid, I’ve always loved Gretsch guitars,” Robinson says. “From Neil Young and Stephen Stills to Steve Marriott and Malcom Young, these guitars have always piqued my imagination. Sonically and visually, Gretsch guitars have always been unique in the musical landscape. To have my own signature Gretsch is an honor, and the Magpie is the combination of all of my favorite elements of Gretsch guitars.”


1 Sooner Or Later
2 Gimme Something
3 Leave It All Behind
4 In Here
5 You And I
6 Mother Storm
7 A Mirror
8 Lost Boy
9 Turn It Around
10 Life Is A Landslide
11 Doesn’t Really Matter
12 Where Is This Place

To share this article:

Don't forget to follow our Spotify Playlist: