FCL aka Belgian house heroes Red D & San Soda will mix the next Defected In The House compilation

Defected presents FCL In The House is the first essential mix album of 2015, a two mix release of classic and contemporary house music, including cuts from Larry Heard, Bob Moses, Seven Davis Jr. and Audiojack, as well as a handful of FCL exclusives. It’s also the very first time Belgian DJ/producers have been invited to join the ranks of Defected’s prestigious mixcd series ‘In The House’, after big names like Bob Sinclair, Kevin Saunderson, Gilles Peterson….

FCLFCL is the house project of Belgian DJ/producers San Soda and Red D, who, in 2012, released ‘It’s You’, a club phenomenon that started life as a Panorama Bar inspired DJ tool and went on to be one of the biggest house tracks of 2013. This year’s follow up ‘Can We Try’, alongside stunning remixes of Audiojack and Kele Okereke amongst others, proved similarly definitive, firmly placing FCL in the upper echelons of house music’s elite. Split across two distinct mixes – one live and one constructed in the studio – Defected presents FCL In The House is the duo’s first ever mix album, with both Red D and San Soda digging deep to deliver mixes indicative of their broad and discerning taste for quality house. “If there was one thing we always wanted to do as DJs, it was to be asked for a mix compilation in which we would get total (house) freedom” says Red D of putting the mix together. “We aimed for a DJ set filled with old and new tracks that you will want to come back to in 10 years’ time”. Kicking off with Bob Moses’ deeply emotive ‘All I Want’, Red D’s mix moves through the subdued, vocal-inflected acid of Credit 00 ‘Obsessed’, Bushwacka!’s heady ‘Healer’ and Tomas’ ‘Mind Song’ – a two decade-old Warp-released record that confirms D’s aptitude for crate-digging. San Soda starts his studio mix with stunning deep vocal cuts from Larry Heard and Norken & Deer, before progressing into tougher house territory with Underground Attorney ‘Nothing Stays’ and his own piano-led ‘Birdies That Fly’, before ending up with the brand new FCL track ‘Behold’, which was exclusively made for this compilation. In addition, the digital version of the release includes two more exclusive tracks; FCL featuring Lady Linn ‘Can We Try’ (Red D’s Italian Dub) and Luv Jam ‘Californian ‘Freestyler’ (Jacob Korn Remix 2), alongside a previously overlooked gem from FCL’s We Play House Recordings catalogue, FCL ‘Used To Be’, also featuring the sultry Lady Linn on vocals.

CD1: Live Mix (Red D)
01. Bob Moses – All I Want
02. Kai Alcé – Shut Your Eyes
03. San Soda – Kaizen
04. Paul Hannah – Key Follow
05. Credit 00 – Obsessed
06. Jacob Korn – Der Don
07. North Lake – Griswold
08. Vince Watson – Mystical Rhythm (Original Mix)
09. Anthony Teasdale feat. Omid 16B – She Frowned He Smiled
10. Tomas – Mind Song
11. B-Code – Feel Good (Verlanzi Dub)
12. Mudhen – Private Sexratery
13. Jump Chico Slamm – Feel Free
14. Lemakuhlar & Red D – Is Essit
15. Bushwacka! – Healer (House Mix)
16. FCL feat. Lady Linn – Can We Try

CD2: Studio Mix (San Soda)
01. Larry Heard – Burning 4 You
02. Norken & Deer feat. Kayela – Shoot The Sun (Russ Gabriel Remix)
03. Boe & Zak – Looking For Love
04. JohNick – C’Mon Give It Up
05. Mousse T. – Ooh Song
06. Sandman & Riverside feat. Jeremy Ellis – Into Your Story (Kai Alcé DISTINCTIVE Remix)
07. Stacy Kidd feat. Peven Everett – How Bad I Want Ya (Radio Mix)
08. Underground Attorney – Nothing Stays (The Underground Mix)
09. San Soda – Birdies That Fly
10. Seven Davis Jr. – One (Live Edit)
11. The Track Addicts – A Place Not 2 Far
12. Audiojack feat. Kevin Knapp – Stay Glued (FCL Weemix)
13. FCL – Behold (ITH Mix)

To share this article:

Don't forget to follow our Spotify Playlist: