New Zealand-based folktronic artist Parabola West releases “Stars Will Light the Way” LP

New Zealand-based American folktronic artist Parabola West has released “Stars Will Light the Way”, a 13-track LP with cinematic sound offerings ranging from atmospheric pop to Northern European folk-influenced compositions, all recorded at the healing frequency of 432Hz. lovingly crafting the album for the last five years.

Parabola West is the artist persona of singer and songwriter Amy Tucker West. Drawing inspiration from Celtic and Nordic folk, as well as electronica, her organic sound is a lush soundscape of layered melodies and piano with a dash of fantasy.

This is the soundtrack of Middle-Earth, mixed in with elements of Loreena McKennitt and female-fronted synth pop / indietronica. Living completely off-grid in an eco-home up a misty mountain, Parabola West is entirely self and fan-funded as a 100% independent artist with no label affiliation.

A unique artistic offering, each song on this album revolves around a new character, for which Parabola West is visually transformed into Frozen Heart, Haunted Hannah, Moon Witch, Sky Painter, Melancholy Mermaid, Dreaming Dryad, Winged Warrior, Memory Mirror, Steampunk Sorceress, Flower Girls, and Nephilim’s Daughter.

Earlier, she previewed the tracks “No One Can Get Me Here”, “Calling Your Name”, “World of Ours” and, most recently, “Hannah” – an ethereal tale of the thin veil between the physical and spiritual worlds, heightened by the use of the medieval hurdy-gurdy and the haunting Swedish folk instrument Nyckelharpa.

‘This album has been collecting inside of me for a long time, and across a lot of different emotions. I didn’t realise it as I was writing the songs, but there is a theme that emerges about the night sky and trying to find your way in the dark,’ says Amy Tucker West.

Originally from Springfield, MA (near Boston) and currently based in Raglan, New Zealand, Amy began songwriting on piano as a teenager and, at age 21, she was recruited into London-based trip-hop band Dreamfield. With two critically acclaimed releases to their credit before splitting in 2003, West relocated to New Zealand, taking a 10-year break from music to work in IT and engineering recruitment, returning to her musical roots in 2013 under the moniker Parabola West.

Parabola West released her debut “Did You Hear?” EP in 2014, followed by her “Purity of Weakness” EP in 2017. More recently, she also released the single and its vibrant live-loving video.

Lovingly crafting the album for the last five years, the new album was produced by Scott Newth (The Datsuns, System Corporation) at BLKHUS studio and co-produced by Andrew Newth with mastering by Chris Chetland at KOG Studio.

The “Stars Will Light the Way” LP is out now on CD or digitally everywhere, including Spotify, Apple Music and Bandcamp. A deluxe CD package with 48-page hardcover fantasy book of lyrics and images has also been issued, limited to 100 copies, which sees Parabola West transformed by an amazing team of creatives into a different character for each song.

Track List “Stars Will Light the Way”:

1. First Snow
2. Calling Your Name
3. Hannah
4. New Moon
5. No One Can Get Me Here
6. The Best Thing
7. Come to Me
8. The Edge
9. While the Watchman Sleeps
10. World of Ours
11. Flowers
12. Bippity Boppity
13. New Moon (Extended)

To share this article:

Don't forget to follow our Spotify Playlist: