Ill Considered share new jazz album “Liminal Space”

Photo (c) Lisa Wormsley

Having exploded onto the scene with 9 self-released albums between 2017 and 2019, UK-based outfit Ill Considered are breaking new ground with their first fully produced studio album, out now on New Soil.

Capturing a moment of transformation for the group, Liminal Space not only features a new core line-up of Idris Rahman (saxophone), Liran Donin (bass) and Emre Ramazanoglu (drums), but also sees Ill Considered bounce their live-wire style off a range of collaborators such as Collocutor’s Tamar Osborn, Steam Down saxophonist Ahnanse, tuba player Theon Cross and percussionist Sarathy Korwar.

Previous singles released so far include debut single ‘Loosed’ which finds the band trading Fela Kuti-esque sax and cosmic jazz flutes over the funkiest of grooves and ‘The Lurch’, driven by the rhythmic brass blast of multiple horn players, ‘The Lurch’ builds from its minimalist beginnings to an apogee of righteously fiery saxophones. New single, ‘Dervish’, out November 3rd, propelled by Idris Rahman’s powerful saxophone salvos ‘Dervish’ finds a heady meeting point between jazz expression and rock ballast.

Far from taming the untethered improvisation of the group’s live shows – which have garnered them a cult following and sold out every one of their nine records along the way – Liminal Space represents an expansion in scope, framing their intuitive approach to performance within the structure and arrangements of the studio environment.

For a group that breathes like a single organism in sound, inviting new energy into the recording process has resulted in what Emre Ramazanoglu describes as “a rebirth of the band in the image of what came before.”

Liminal Space Tracklist:

1. Pearls
2. First Light
3. Prayer
4. The Lurch
5. Light Trails
6. Dust
7. Loosed
8. Sandstorm
9. Knuckles
10. Dervish

To share this article:

Don't forget to follow our Spotify Playlist: