Legendary Pre-YES Band MABEL GREER’S TOYSHOP to Release New Album

The psychedelic, progressive rock group originally formed in the sixties have reunited and announced a new album entitled ‘NEW WAY OF LIFE’ to be released on 9th March. ‘NEW WAY OF LIFE’ by the band Mabel Greer’s Toyshop (MGT) is about authenticity without compromise, a unique and very special album. At once certainly different from all twenty one “YES” studio albums, it still has early MGT vibes from the time Chris Squire, Peter Banks, Tony Kaye and Jon Anderson were in the band. The album demonstrates the evolution of the group starting out in the sixties and how life experiences have since shaped the music. “We hope that YES followers everywhere enjoy this offering. It’s a piece of history brought to life by the technology of today. The album includes new versions of old classics like Beyond & Before, and a whole lot of new music too,” says Clive Bayley, singer, guitarist and song writer.

Mabel Greers Toyshop

The album has been co-produced by YES producer and former member Billy Sherwood who also plays keyboards alongside Tony Kaye and bass alongside Hugo Barré on the album. Mabel Greer’s Toyshop delivers a vibrant, high-energy but sometimes unworldly sound from an eclectic mix of old and new music. And ‘NEW WAY OF LIFE’ doesn’t disappoint on originality. It was recorded after the two founding members Clive Bayley and Robert Hagger met up again last August after a gap of 45 years! Other members of MGT went on to establish long and successful careers in the music business with YES and other bands, while Clive and Bob ventured into the world of business. “It really was a miracle that we came together and produced this album” said Hagger. “It started out as fun when I met Clive again and he suggested a trip to the recording studio. The outcome was that we re-discovered the old magic, it was a big buzz working together again, and we have to thank Alex Keren and Hugo Barré for their help in making this project happen.” The 11-song album includes a mix of Bayley’s soulful vocals, wailing guitar solos, and exciting keyboards by Tony Kaye.

“On hearing that Mabel Greer’s Toyshop wanted to get back together after so long, I was sceptical about how it would all sound” said Billy Sherwood. “To my surprise it was actually very cool, not only will this new album appeal to the die-hard YES fans but also to a whole new breed of followers. It’s such an exciting project to be involved in”.

Two of the songs, now with new versions, ‘Beyond & Before’ and ‘Sweetness’, featured on the very first YES album in 1969; the former co-written by Clive Bayley and Chris Squire and the latter by Bayley, Squire and Jon Anderson. Other new versions of old songs on the album co-written by Bayley and Squire are: ‘Jeanetta’, ‘Get Yourself Together’, ‘Images of You & Me’ and ‘Electric Funeral’. The other tracks are all new works written mainly by Bayley.

The album will be available from 9th March, 2015.

To share this article:

Don't forget to follow our Spotify Playlist: